Claremorris have major minor moment

GAA: Mayo GAA MFC Finals

Claremorris claimed the Mayo GAA Minor A Football Championship crown after a 3-14 to 0-6 win over Castlebar Mitchels in Hastings Insurance MacHale Park earlier this week.

The south Mayo men were five clear at the half time break on a score of 0-8 to 0-3, before outscoring their opponents 3-6 to 0-3 in the second half with Dara and Niall Hurley, Paul Gilmore and Darragh Beirne all to the fore for the winners. Niall Hurley scored two goals for his side one from the penalty spot, while Darragh Berine slotted home their third also from a spot kick late on to close out a memorable win.

Balla hit five to claim B title

Five goals from Balla saw them romp home to victory in the Mayo GAA Minor B Football Championship Final in the county ground this week. First half goals from Mark Jennings, Liam Glynn and Ryan O’Donnell were instrumental in their 5-11 to 1-12 win, which they led 3-4 to 0-6 at the break.

A goal from Ben Thornton looked like it might bring Ballina Stephenites back into the game, but two more majors from Balla through Oisín Jordan and second of the evening from Glynn sealed the contest and had the bonfires burning in Balla.

Carras can do in C decider

The Mayo GAA Minor C Football Championship headed to south Mayo after Carras has a big 1-18 to 2-5 win over Belmullet in MacHale Park this week. Hugh O’Loughlin and Conor Lydon had big games for the amalgamation for Kilmaine and Garrymore, with the duo combining for nine points over the hour.

James Ó Coinne and Anthony Barrett got second half goals for the north Mayo men to keep them in touch, but Carras were able to keep tagging on points to stretch-out their lead with the final grace note added by Eoin McGreal late on to wrap up the proceedings as a contest.

Gaels and Shurle-Glencorrib celebrate final wins

Mayo Gaels and The Neale engaged in a thrilling Mayo GAA Minor D Football Championship Final on Wednesday night that went all the way to extra time, before Mayo Gaels emerged victorious on a score of 2-16 to 2-15 to claim the title. The Minor E Championship Final was equally thrilling with Shrule Glencorrib having just a point to spare over Tourmakeady, winning 2-11 to 2-10


Page generated in 0.0962 seconds.