Mayo League award winners announced

Ballina Town have five players in this year's Super League team of the year as the north Mayo men, who claimed the title in style last year, have seen Mark Duffy, Derek Tansey, Jamie Cawley, Dylan Edwards and Brendan Lavelle all named in the 2019 team.

Westport United were the next most recognised side with three players - Joe Lawless, James O'Donnell and Dave Cameron making it on to the team of the season. The three other places in the team went to Sean Morrisey from Manulla, Castlebar Celtic's Jason Hunt and Danny Broderick from Claremorris.

Super League champions Ballina Town have two of the three nominations for the top divisions player of the year, with defender Derek Tansy and striker Brendan Lavelle both nominated for the gong along with Westport United's Dave Cameron.

The two sides who were promoted out of the Premier Division, have been rewarded three selections each in the Premier Division team of the year, with Eamon Conway, Kevin Curry and Sean Curry from the champions Snugboro United and the Ballyhaunis Town trio of Aiden McTigue, Gary Higgins and Dayo Adex all getting the nod.

Swinford, who finished in third place, have two players in the team of the year with Martin Murphy and Joe Skevin both making the side. The rest of the team is made up of the Glenhest duo of Chris Rowland and David Walsh with Fahy Rovers Joe Keane the 11th man in the team. In the race to be player of the year, the Curry brothers Sean and Kevin from Snugboro United, will battle it out against Ballyhaunis Town's Gary Higgins.

Ballina Town's B team who claimed the League One title have five players in the League One team of the season, with Eric Eaton, Conor Quinn, Jason Muldoon, Dale Hopkins and Shane Devers all getting the nod. Next up was Manulla B, who had three players in the team with Sean Corcoran, Paddy Canavan and Damien Walsh all being selected. Killala have two players in the best of the year list - with Danny Gallagher and Keith Higgins all making the selection - with the team completed by Crossmolina's Kevin Campbell.

The race for the player of the year award is a battle between the Ballina Town B duo of Dale Hopkins and Jason Muldoon with Manulla B's Paddy Canavan completing the short list.

League Two champions, Hollister, have five players in the divisions team of the year, with Martin Delaney, Malachy McCarron, Daniel Maughan, Eamon Kenny and Danny Langdon all getting places in the starting 11. Claremorris B's trio of Johnny Burke, Niall Kitching and Clive Hennigan also made the cut along with Ballyvary Blue Bombers duo, Shane Foy and Dylan Ralph, with the team being completed by Ballina United's Shane Maughan. The player of the year award is a battle between Clive Hennigan from Claremorris B and the Hollister duo of Danny Langdon and Malachy McCarron.

In the Masters League top flight, Manulla had three of the seven slots in the team of the year with Sean Fahy, Dermot McNicholas and John Kelly all being rewarded with places. The other four spots were made up by AP Kelly (Ballyhaunis Town ), Colin Napier (Fahy Rovers ), Eugene Gorman (Ballina Town ) and Bryan Mannion from Castlebar Celtic.

In the Masters Division Two team there were six players from the same club, Swinford Town - four from their B team and two from their A side. The four from the B team were Thomas Regan, John Duffy, Patrick McDonnell and Tim Moriarty - while Paul Halligan and Gavin Groarke were in from the A side. The other place in the team went to Conn Rangers' Shane Sweeney.

The hall of fame award will be presented to Stephen McDonnell from Snugboro United, while the Henry Downes Service to Football awards will be handed out to John Beckett (Fahy Rovers ) and Jimmy Flannery (Bangor Hibs ) with posthumous awards being dedicated to the late Tom Mulloy (Mulranny United ) and David Walsh (Glenhest Rovers ).

The awards will be handed out at the Mayo League's annual presentation dinner which will take place in the Castlecourt Hotel, Westport on Saturday, January 19.


Page generated in 0.0774 seconds.