Boro' and 'Haunis' go toe to toe in cup final

Soccer: Mayo League

This Sunday will see the clash of the two top sides in the Premier Division in the Connacht Gold Premier Cup Final in Solar 21 Park at 2pm.

Both Snugboro United and Ballyhaunis Town have already wrapped up their promotion to the top flight for next season from the Premier Division, with a game to spare.

But their attentions will be firmly fixed on the potential to lift some silverware this Sunday when they meet in Mayo League headquarters. The two sides only met a few weeks ago, with Ballyhaunis picking up the win. While the east Mayo men's win might not have been that much of a surprise as both sides have been evenly matched all season, the margin of victory certainly was.

The Town ran out 5-0 winners with Kieran Mooney and Jamil Kezze bagging first half goals. They added on three more with Gary Higgins bagging two and Andy Cunnane finishing off their second half goals.

Celtic win the big one in the Junior Cup

In last weekend's action, Liam Flatley was the Castlebar Celtic hero when he bagged four goals for his side as they knocked Super League champions, Ballina Town, out of the FAI Junior Cup in a 5-4 thriller that needed extra-time to separate the two sides.

Flatley opened the scoring before Ger O'Boyle doubled the Hoops' lead early on and Flatley bagged his second early in the second half to put his side 3-1 up, but Ballina fought back and goals from Duane Helly, Fabiano Macrio and Dylan Edwards levelled the game up at 3-3.

In extra time, Flatley bagged two more goals, before Benny Lavelle converted a late penalty to leave just one between the sides, but it was the Hoops' who marched into the next round.

Westport United saw off Snugboro United 2-0 thanks to goals from Brandon Scahill and Mickey O'Brien finding the net, while the Boro' will be disappointed they have much bigger games coming up in the next few weeks.

Fellow Super League side Manulla came from one down to see off Fahy Rovers 3-1 thanks to goals from Jackson DeSilva, Gerry Canavan and Jonathon Griffin. Also bagging three goals in their win was Conn Rangers who saw off Glenhest Rovers 3-2 with Enna McHale, Joe Fauhgan and Eoin Prendergast the goalscorers.

Claremorris were 7-2 winners over Ballyheane with Ronan Commons and Finian Brady both bagging a brace and Danny Broderick, Daniel Murphy and Simon Butler all grabbing a goal each. Kiltimagh/Knock United scored the only goal of the game against Ballyglass to progress with Liam Groarke's free kick the deciding moment of the contest. Iorras Anotaithe were also 1-0 winners against Swinford, while both Partry Athletic and Crossmolina were 11-0 winners over Ballyvary Blue Bombers and Ballina United respectively, to go into the hat for the next round.


Page generated in 0.0702 seconds.