United bolster squad

Galway United manager Tommy Dunne's latest signings of Connor Gleeson and Eric Foley now brings his squad to 25.

Twenty-six-years-old experienced midfielder Eric Foley signed from Athlone Town. Capped for Ireland at U16 and U17 levels, Foley spent three years at Celtic before returning to Ireland. "I would consider myself an experienced player, despite being only 26,” he says. “I've played most of my career in the premier division and won some silverware, so hopefully I can bring certain qualities to the squad and help guide the younger players at the club.

"I can only see good things for the club in the future and Eamonn Deacy Park is one of the finest grounds in the country to play in."

Tommy Dunne says Foley is technically as good as anything around in midfield.

"From set-pieces he gives you fantastic deliveries, which is a big thing in his arsenal. We weren't overly flush with central midfielders and especially a player of his type, so I think he's another positive signing."

"With the amount of games we had last year, we needed more players and strength in depth. We've some mid-week games and players are going to feel the pinch. Last year we overextended players and that caused injuries. With a bigger group, we'll be able to have more flexibility and options."

Goalkeeper Connor Gleeson, a native of Dunmore, returns to Eamonn Deacy Park after a spell with Athlone Town. He was a member of United's promotion winning team in 2015 with 29 appearances. Altough there already two good goalkeepers in Conor Winn and Kevin Horgan, Dunne believes Connor Gleeson's arrival enhances the club's options.

"I wanted to have quality and competition in every position. There has to be a lively competitiveness in the squad if we're going to push on as a club."

2016 GALWAY UNITED SQUAD (25 ): Conor Winn, Connor Gleeson, Kevin Horgan, Colm Horgan, Cormac Raftery, Kilian Cantwell, Evan Murphy, Stephen Walsh, Armin Aganovic, Stephen Folan, Marc Ludden, Gary Kinneen, Gary Shanahan, Kevin Devaney, Conor Melody, Ryan Connolly (cpt ), Alex Byrne, Paul Sinnott, John Sullivan, Vinny Faherty, Andrew Connolly, Padraic Cunningham, Ruairi Keating, Enda Curran, Eric Foley.


Page generated in 0.1957 seconds.