Corinthians show intent with a big win over Malahide

Galway Corinthians RfC sent out a serious message to their Energia League Division 2B opponents with an eight try (56-7 ) hammering of Malahide in Corinthian Park on Saturday.

Having suffered a narrow loss to leaders Instonians the previous weekend, Corinthians returned to winning ways in emphatic style, securing the bonus point before half time.

A week of heavy rain did not stop the home side from opening with two tries in the opening ten minutes. Max Flynn was first following an excellent pass from Rory McCleane, and it was followed minutes later by Matthew Devine who started and finished the move from a Corinthians’ lineout to cross over under the posts, with Sean Naughton landing the extras.

The build up to try number three started on the Corinthians 22 with an intercept by Harry Rogers who ran the length of the field before finding a supporting Naughton who finished and added the exras.

In total control, Matthew Devine bagged the third try, and his second, after a move that featured most of the home side. The scoring did not stop there when Rory McCleane and Grellan Murray crossed for tries number five and six, with Naughton continuing his 100 per cent record with the boot.

With 42 points between the teams at half time, it was inevitable the visitors would respond and they did soon after the restart with a try from Conrad Daly.

It was only a temporary respite as Corinthians closed out the game through centre Rogers who took full advantage of the wilting Malahide backline. Naughton’s conversion concluded the scoring, putting the Galway outfit second behind Instonians in Division 2B. Corinthians now head to Cork to face Dolphin on Friday November 3.

Corinthians: S Fox, R McCleane, H Rogers, T Waters, F McNulty, S Naughton, M Devine, P Fahy, M Holmes, F Barrett, R Glynn, R Janse Van Rensburg, G Murray, M Flynn, M Boyle (C ). Replacements: A Nash, R Dufficy, J Claffey, J Tierney, C Treacy.

Malahide: E Weaver, D Hayes, M Faulkner, D O’Halloran, M O’Brien, J Leonard, C Daly. R O’Connell (C ), L Byrne, R McMahon, D O’Brien, S Burke, M Kelly, J Doyle, N McCarthy, C Daly. Replacements: S McCoy, D Bagnall, D Morrin, M Alborough, H Philipps.


Page generated in 0.1807 seconds.