Craughwell pair secure cross country win

Craughwell athletes took the honours on the first day of the 2023 Galway Cross Country championships in Ballybrit on Saturday.

Hosted by Castlegar and Tuam clubs, the day's winners at senior level were Craughwell's Helena O'Keeffe, and William Fitzgerald, who secured his hat-trick of titles.

At U10 level there were wins for Finbarr Sayers Salas of Castlegar and Cathy Anne Sheridan of South Galway, and in the U12 competitions Aoibhe Daly of CRH and Harry Melia of Athenry AC emerged victorious.

Alan Hallinan of Craughwell and Ruby McGuire of Tuam won the U14 events, while the U16 races were won by Craughwell's Claudia Coyle and Ciaran Considine.

Mollie Smith of Loch Lurgan AC and Luke O'Sullivan of Craughwell claimed the U18 titles.

Galway Primary Schools Cross Country

The semi-finals of the Primary Schools Cross Country athletics took place on Tuesday at Nolan Park, Renmore, with some 2600 pupils representing 150 schools in action.

The divisions included third, fourth fifth and sixth classes with the top 30 from each race contesting next week’s finals in Renmore on Tuesday October 3.

The winners will qualify for the Connaught Championships in Galway on October 11.

Loughrea 10k

Loughrea AC hosted its annual Grey Lake 10k on Sunday with Paul Caulfield taking the honours in a time of 36.34. Gerard Garvin second and Lorcan Doyle finished second and third respectively, while the first woman home was Emily Miskella of Craughwell AC in 45.27, ahead of Eimear Bray and Niamh O'Brien.


Page generated in 0.2148 seconds.